This article was originally published on this site


Parallax effects in web design have been around for a bit, and although some may say they are past their prime, we still find them in use all over the internet. In today’s post, we have compiled some pretty interesting examples of parallax effects from CodePen for you to view for inspiration, ideas, and to learn from. We hope you enjoy these examples!

Firewatch Parallax in CSS

A very smooth, cinematic effect with layered images that move at different speeds on scroll.

See the Pen Firewatch Parallax in CSS by Sam Beckham (@samdbeckham) on CodePen.dark

Header/Footer Parallax

A somewhat basic header, content, footer layout but the header has a subtle background effect that coincides with the standard parallax effect.

See the Pen Header/Footer Parallax Effect by Hudson Marinho (@hudsonmarinho) on CodePen.dark

Slider Transitions

A very impressive slider with parallax transitions.

See the Pen Slider transitions by Mirko Zorić (@fluxus) on CodePen.dark

Parallax Star Background In CSS

Pure CSS shy full of stars that animate realistically.

See the Pen Parallax Star background in CSS by Saransh Sinha (@saransh) on CodePen.dark

Sass Parallax Example

Another example that does not need JavaScript to make it happen.

See the Pen Sass parallax example by Scott Kellum (@scottkellum) on CodePen.dark

The ‘Root Element’ Parallax Technique

Setting all positions and parallax movements in CSS, this technique minimizes DOM manipulations to just one – on the `html` element – boosting overall performance, although certainly not better than using 3D transforms.

See the Pen The ‘root element’ parallax technique by Adam Mustill (@amustill) on CodePen.dark

Parallax Depth Cards

Unlike most other parallax examples, these effects happen on hover.

See the Pen Parallax Depth Cards by Andy Merskin (@andymerskin) on CodePen.dark

Canvas Parallax Skyline

Horizontal animation triggered by mouse movements – interesting!

See the Pen Canvas Parallax Skyline by Jack Rugile (@jackrugile) on CodePen.dark

Simple jQuery Parallax Scroll Effect

A more traditional scrolling parallax effect with SCSS and jQuery.

See the Pen Simple jquery parallax scroll effect (updated 12 April 2017) by Hendry Sadrak (@hendrysadrak) on CodePen.dark

Fullscreen Drag Slider With Parallax

A clean horizontal slider that incorporates a parallax transition effect.

See the Pen Fullscreen drag-slider with parallax by Nikolay Talanov (@suez) on CodePen.dark

Scrolling Sky

Love the old school graphics used in this scrolling sky with clouds, balloons, and more.

See the Pen Parallax Scrolling by Marcel Schulz (@MarcelSchulz) on CodePen.dark

Airplanes

Here’s a cool animation with parallax effects on scroll.

See the Pen Airplanes. by Steve Gardner (@ste-vg) on CodePen.dark

What Are Your Thoughts About Parallax Effects?

Whether or not you are a fan, parallax effects in web design don’t appear to be going anywhere soon. We hope these examples have given you some tips and inspiration for your own projects. Be sure to check out our other collections here on 1WD for other ideas!